Runaway Books and Lost Bookish Friends!

I’ve been away most of the last 4 months, so I’m sure I’ve chased off my readers and blogging bookish friends! Come back, I pray!!!  Where I’ve been is a long and boring story, so let me get right to the books.

Here’s a list of the latest ones I’ve been reading, and some that are finding their way into my bedside stacks:

Mrs. Lincoln  by Catherine Clinton – a very readable and interesting insight into America’s true First Lady

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith – what a writer Mr. G-S is!  I was nearly believing this story and had to catch myself several times!  If you’re going to read any of these type of classics to monsterish books, please do yourself a favor and try this excellent writer.  He also wrote:  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Kitchen House–  Katharine     :  OMGosh!  If you haven’t read this book, go quickly to your nearest bookstore or get on your Kindle and buy it!  I’d never say this unless I meant it…and coming from me, a die-hard Southerner, you can take it as gospel – this is the best book I’ve read about slavery and the connections of white and black Southerners since  Gone With the Wind.   This is a must read this year…I’m telling you.  The author isn’t from the South, so I’m sure she had to have been led by the spirits of the land to have written this with such insight and knowledge.

Look Me in  the Eye– John Elder Robison:  Mr. Robison is the brother of Augusten Burroughs whom you may recognize as the author of Running With Scissors.  This book tells his story of a life with Asperger’s syndrome.  My daughter works privately with a child with Asperger’s and I’ve been so curious about what it means to have this syndrome having heard that the founder of Microsoft, possibly Einstein, and other extraordinary men of history are thought to have it.  John Elder brings us along his childhood into adulthood in such a fascinating way that I soon forgot that I was thinking like he was and experiencing a sort of aggitation at his writing…until it dawned on me that I was experiencing the actual ways it felt to be and deal with Asperger’s people!    This is one of the most interesting books of this genre I’ve read.

Secrets of Eden– Chris Bojalian-  Well, what can I say except that this was a light-weight book for Chris.  It was a good idea that didn’t quite make it.  Had very little impact and ended with a “pffftt” instead of a bang.  I don’t know…it’s a paperback buy at best.  A poolside, beachy book that you care if it gets wet.  This is the story of a priest in a small New England town who gets himself embroiled in the life and death of a lady parrishner.  The lady ends up being killed by her abusive husband.  I won’t give away the story…..   :]

The Boundless Deep– by Kate Brallier:   I’ve just started this really fascinating book about a young woman who has dreams of whaling and an old lover….  She wonders if it’s reincarnation…Some of the story takes place in Nantucket so far.   I love this sort of gothic, mysterious, whaling, story….

The Forgotten Garden– by Kate Morton:  This is a book I’ve just started.  What drew me to it was the cover review which offered, “A tiny girl is abandoned on a ship headed for Australia in 1913.  She arrives completely alone with nothing but a small suitcase containing a few clothes and a single book–a beautiful volume of fairy tales.”

The Story Sisters– by Alice Hoffman:  Alice Hoffman is one of our best authors of this generation for her genre.  I’ve been reading her books and loving them since the 1970’s….and she never fails to please.  This book was another of her best.  The story sisters are three magical, mysterious sisters who divide their time between the US and Paris.  They have their own “twin-type” language and a “world” created in the finest detail that they spend hushed moments in for  hours.  The older two sisters have an ominous secret that they share, but we only get hints of until the end of the book.  Here, though, we are introduced to the most beautiful and interesting girls, their amazing grandmamere, neighbors and animals.  Ms. Hoffman is known for her human stories with just a pinch of the magical, and this book is a “hold it to you chest,” and love it book.  You might remember her for “Practical Magic” which they made into the movie starring Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock.    Everyone,  go read this book this Summer.

The Swan Thieves– by Elizabeth Kostova:  There were lots of  mixed reviews on this book.  Mostly people who had read “The Historian,” were disappointed in Ms. K’s second attempt.  I wasn’t at all dis-appointed.  I thought this story of an apparently deranged man slashing a famous painting in a museum, and the psychiatrist who tried to help him by solving the mysterious intricacies of his life and past was a great read.  I’d give this book a strong 4 on a scale of 5.

The Black Dagger Brotherhood- by J. R. Ward:   I’m completely hooked on these Blood Brothers as many of my reading friends are.  Sigh…..  If you haven’t tried one, all I can say is you’re missing out on something……  :]

Roses– by Leila Meacham:  Thoroughly enjoyed this book as a no brainer, easy to read, old fashioned historical, and generational novel with a mysterious twist.   I came to really like and enjoy the characters.  This is a good book.

Waiting to Read:     Jane Slayre,  another Brotherhood book,  Cutting for StoneThe Immortal Life of Henrietta LacksThe Postmistress, Hunger Games

Sometimes I’m just not in the mood to write reviews, but I hope I’ve given you some ideas on books to take a look at in the next weeks.  When you comment, please be sure to leave me some suggestions of books you’ve liked, as well.  I’m really interested in your books, too!!

Thanks for stopping by,

Your Bookish Dame

Take your time....leave a note...

