Recommended Reading for Mysteries

Haven’t been blogging in such a long time!  Surgeries, daughter & grandson moving away, best friend fighting cancer, and business with my stitching blog ( http://lavenroseramblings.blogspot.com/  )  has kept me away.

However, I’ve been reading, naturally!!!  :]    Here’s my hit list of favorite authors from murder and mystery and forensics.   These authors are not to be missed, and I’ve been reading them like the “end’s coming!”

My list for you:

Karin Slaughter’s books  —   Slaughter is a fabulous author who really is right up there with the likes of male writers such as Michael Connelly and Robert Parker.   I hesitate to say she’s as great as Patricia Cornwell since Cornwell is a bit more cerebral….but I like  Slaughter’s book as much or better.    Her first series of books are wonderful with very capable and sympathetic main characters that you’ll come to really care about.

Patricia Cornwell’s books:   Nobody writes forensic mysteries like Cornwell.  Let’s face it…she’s the real thing and she takes us to real places for autopsies, labs, secretive gov’t and police locations, etc…..   Not to mention that her main characters are so wretchingly loveable in their neverending toughness!   Read anything and everything by her!

Kathy Reichs books:   Reichs is second only to Cornwell in writing and characterization.  I have to say that she gets better with every book, and her storylines are more interesting.  I found her second book less interesting than her first, but after that…she was producing really awesome stories.   You may want to start with a late-middle written book….

Jeffrey Deaver’s books:   Let’s just say, “He’s the Master.”   Nearly every book he writes is a stunner.  The characters are wonderfully fleshed out, the storylines are so interesting and awful that they grip you from the beginning.   I know some of you are reallly Deaver fans!

J. R. Robb’s books:   Writing from Nora Roberts….I’m just discovering “Robb.”   A  woman waiting for chemo when my friend and I were waiting for her’s, had one of these books.   I asked her about it, “Tailspin,” and she told me she really enjoyed this series about the psychic policewoman and her man!   Hmmmmm   I’ve just bought two of Robb’s books and am starting them as soon as I finish Karin Slaughter’s “Fractured.”    In previewing Robb’s books,  that is; reading the first chapter of each, I’ve been really ropped in!

 

Here’s wishing  you some new mystery reading for the Summer.  No doubt most of you are familiar with the authors and some of the books I’ve mentioned.   But, if you haven’t been reading down this road for a while, which I had not, I truly recommend another stop by!

Your Bookish Dame

One thought on “Recommended Reading for Mysteries

  1. Tina says:

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself have been trying to solve the mystery of this legend for a while now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

Take your time....leave a note...

