Joyce Carol Oates’ “My Sister, My Love”

Joyce Carol Oates is one of my very favorite authors.  Everyone knows how prolific she is…but she’s also so magnetic and magical in her writing skills that I so often feel pulled into the story and characters at a pace nearly too quickly to break away from!  This new book of hers literally made my head spin!!  I felt the anxiety and out-of-body slipping away that Skyler and his sister and mother were warring against.  Ms. Oates is simply amazing in her characterizations. 

“My Sister, My Love,”  will make you feel uncomfortable, like a proverbial “fly on the wall” at the Rampike home, and deeply taken in by this dysfunctional family.  Here is Oates’ loosely disguised story/take on the JonBenet Ramsey case.  It’s a “fill in the blanks” sort of book that leaves us with Oates, theory of what may have happened to JonBenet.  It’s a chilling and captivating book.

I cannot put it down!!  I’d love to hear what you think of it. 

Your Bookish Dame…..

2 thoughts on “Joyce Carol Oates’ “My Sister, My Love”

  1. Jessica says:

    I really want to read one of her novels… this one sounds good. I am still fascinated with that case.. I want to know who did it. I love the idea of being a fly on the wall..

  2. AllieB says:

    Defintiely want to put this one on the list. I am compiling a list for winter hibernation when I get into my favorite jammies and cozy bed (just like you did recently) and read. Mind you this usually happens on a Sunday. The other option is in the LR by the fire with the cats on the couch. Remember fires in the fire place? I don’t know about a lemon chiffon cake to go with it,,,,,,,,,,,, how about hummus and veggies. I know boring.

Take your time....leave a note...

