A Trip to Bountiful!

I love a trek to the bookstore.  I call it a trip to Bountiful, don’t you?  Tonight, I decided to venture into the Psychology section, which is a new place for me….or at least one I haven’t visited for a while.  I started to find a book on Sigmond Freud, then realized I had already read and owned the classic volume on his life and writings.  So, my eyes fell to the lower shelf and I found this title:

The Art of Seduction

by Robert Greene

Here are some intriguing notes from the back cover:

“Get what you want by manipulating everyone’s greatest weakness: the desire for pleasure.  Seduction is the most subtle, elusive and effective form of power.  It’s as evident in  John F. Kennedy’s hold over the masses as it is in Cleopatra’s hold over Antony.  … The Art of Seduction takes us through the characters and qualities of the ten archetypal figures of seduction (including the Siren, the Ideal Lover, the Dandy, the Natural, the Charismatic, and the Star) and the 24 maneuvers by which anyone can overcome a victim’s futile resistance to the practice of this devastating and timeless art form.”

Wow!  I had to have this one!!  I’ll let you know how it is when I get a chance to read some of it.  Gotta go try it!!

 

Take your time....leave a note...

