TBR Challenge 2008

Here finally is a great reading challenge for me!  The one that gets the books in my “To Be Read” pile whittled down this year.  I have so many want-to-be-read books that just haven’t gotten into my hands in the past year.  This group allows us to make a list of 12 books to read, with an alternate list of books for 2008.  We read them in any order…hopefully, one a month, and give a review for our group.  I love it!  Here’s my list:

  1. War and Peace  –  Tolstoy
  2. Silk  –  Alessandro Baricco
  3. The Invention of Truth –  Marta Morazzoni
  4. Daughter of Fortune – Isabel Allende
  5. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  6. An American Tragedy – Theodore Dreiser
  7. Kept – DJ Taylor
  8. The Birth House – Ami McKay
  9. The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen – Syrie James
  10. Heyday – Kurt Andersen
  11. The Sleeping Doll – Jeffery Deaver
  12. Bridge of San Luis Rey  – Thornton Wilder

Alternatives:

  1. The Poe Shadow – Matthew Pearl
  2. Snow Flower & Secret Fan – Lisa See
  3. Mansions of the Dead  – Sarah Stewart Taylor
  4. My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picot
  5. A Private Hotel for Gentle Ladies – Ellen Cooney
  6. Eye Contact – Cammie McGovern
  7. Crow Lake – Mary Lawson
  8. The Tortilla Curtain – T.C. Boyle
  9. Loving Frank – Nancy Horan
  10. Papa Married a Morman – John Fitzgerald
  11. The Kite Runner
  12. A Thousand Splendid Suns

6 thoughts on “TBR Challenge 2008

  1. Barbara says:

    Very interesting lists, Deb. I’ve only read Daughter of Fortune, War and Peace, and An American Tragedy.

  2. Sonya says:

    Yay!! First visitor! LOLZ

    I’m easily pleased, huh?! Heheh

    Great book list Deb. I know you’ll whizz through them, you’re so organised. Me? I’m still working my way down my TBR 2007 challenge list, lol.

    However, 2008 is a new year so I might just sign up this year too. I didn’t make it through my list of 25 for 2007 but I could probably manage 12 this year. I’ve got 1 under my belt already. Wonders will never cease!

    AND, I may even set up a book-blog too……because I’m a copycat with monkey-see-monkey-do tendancies, hahahaha.

  3. vondalee says:

    Thanks for linking to this new blog, Deb! Perhaps I’ll get some tips on good reading from you. 🙂

    I read The Kite Runner a couple of months ago and found it very interesting. My in-laws spent several years in Iran (late ’70s) so that area and people both baffle and fascinate me. It’s not too long, so it could be a great filler in between some of your larger works, or for taking a break in them. Hugs!

  4. Sonya says:

    LOLZ, *points upwards*………….Make that, Second Visitor

  5. lisamm says:

    I’ve read 2, 4, and 11 on your alternates list.. all favorites from 2007.

  6. Stephanie says:

    First, thanks for commenting on my blog – good luck with getting some freebies! Anyway, you have a great list there – Snow Flower, My Sister’s Keeper and especially The Kite Runner were all great books! I too have signed up for the TBR challenge, but haven’t yet read any on my list – end of January and I’m already behind!

Take your time....leave a note...

